It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Confederate Military Manuscripts and Records of Union Generals and the Union Army
Confederate Military Manuscripts and Records of Union Generals and the Union Army (Module 33)
The collections in this module deliver unique coverage of the Confederate Army and the Union Army. The Confederate Army records consist of Confederate Military Manuscripts sourced from the holdings of Virginia Historical Society; the Louisiana and Lower Mississippi Valley Collections, Louisiana State University; the Center for American History, University of Texas at Austin; and the University of Virginia. The collections in the Confederate Military Manuscripts cover the perspective of an army commander or an administrative department down to the level of the private soldier, covering all aspects of their military service and experience, while also offering glimpses of life on the home front. Several previously unpublished collections of records of the Union Army are also integral to this module. Highlights include papers of spies, scouts, guides and detectives, including a series on Allan Pinkerton; records on military discipline from courts-martial, courts of inquiry and investigations by military commissions; and records of the U.S. Colored Troops.
Includes report of Fitzhugh Lee for March 29-April 9, 1865; report of John Gordon Brown concerning the retreat from Petersburg; report of Fitzhugh Lee regarding the cavalry corps of the Army of Northern Virginia, a copy of the terms of the surrender of the Army of Northern Virginia, April 10, 1865; and telegrams from April 1865
This item consists of a 1905 autobiography of Launcelot Minor Blackford. The autobiography covers his Civil War service in the Rockbridge Artillery and his capture at Sailor's Creek and detention at Burkeville Junction. The autobiography also covers his childhood, education, family life, social life, and teaching career. Locations mentioned include Fairfax Station, First Bull Run, Jackson's Valley Campaign, Winchester, Bath, Romney, Richmond, First Kernstown, Port Republic, Cross Keys, McDowell, Gordonsville, Slaughter Mountain, Second Bull Run, Antietam, Lynchburg, Fredericksburg, Gettysburg, Chickamauga, Lookout Mountain, Atlanta, Knoxville, Russellville, and Petersburg.
consists of reminiscences of Henry Kinchen Williams in the Southampton Greys, Company D, 3rd Virginia Infantry Regiment, Kemper's Brigade, Pickett's Division, Longstreet's First Army Corps, Army of Northern Virginia. Experiences discussed include mustering into service, camp life, marching, being wounded in battle, and going on furlough. Battles mentioned include the Peninsula Campaign, Williamsburg, Seven Pines, Seven Days, Gaines's Mill, Gettysburg, Five Forks, and surrender at Appomattox
Alex, David, and John Perryman were members of a home guard company. William Ellison was murdered in Franklin County, Tennessee on August 12, 1864, by W. M. Johns of the 10th Tennessee Volunteer Infantry. The Perrymans were also charged with stealing a horse from William Wildman in Franklin County on May 18, 1864. Alex and David were also charged with stealing shoes from the store of William P. Hart, also in Franklin County. On the charge of "being a guerrilla," it was alleged that David, dressed in a U.S. Army uniform, did impersonate a U.S. Army officer and "perpetrate outrages against the unoffending citizens" of Franklin County.
The first three charges in this case all pertained to Parker's action during the battle of Shiloh. He was not at his post during the fighting and eventually ran away from his regiment. On the charge of insubordination, Parker allegedly used abusive and insulting language toward Col. Peter Sullivan. On the charge of conduct unbecoming an officer and a gentleman, Parker told a "false and fraudulent" story to some of his fellow officers in hopes of getting them to sign a petition for the resignation of Col. Sullivan. It was also alleged that during the battle of Shiloh, he wrapped himself in a blanket to conceal his rank and to facilitate his desertion from his regiment.
Baird was charged with not maintaining a proper degree of discipline in the company under his command, and he allowed his men to purchase a large quantity of alcohol from the post commissary at Moscow, Tennessee. Regarding the third charge, Baird was placed under arrest and confined to his quarters, but he repeatedly left his quarters and went beyond the limits of the camp.
including a report on smuggling operations, Arnold's report includes, "I reported to Col. Hiller for assignment to duty on the 27th of Oct. [S]ince that time I have mostly been engaged in watching the movements of a party of men who have been smuggling stolen and contraband horses into Illinois[.] I have succeeded in getting evidence against one of the men and he has been arrested. I have taken two contraband horses from them and am still gaining more information of their movements. I have also been in search of property that was stolen at Pilot Knob."
In an April 27, 1864, statement, King describes her work as a spy for the Union Army. According to her statement, King had a mother, two sisters, and one brother living in Columbus, Georgia. She was sent to gather information about Confederate troops in Georgia, and she used the excuse of visiting her family in order to secure passes through Confederate pickets. Although she says she was "regarded with suspicion," she was able to secure a pass to go to Marrietta. The remainder of her statement describes her travels throughout Georgia and her numerous encounters with Confederate personnel and her arrest in Dalton. Despite her arrest, King was able to gather information about Confederate troop movements and the availability of food and other supplies for the Confederate Army in Georgia.
Pinkerton appears to be reporting on detective operations in and around Mobile, Alabama, around the close of the Civil War. He often refers to operatives N.H. (possibly A.H.) and A.E.P. (possibly S.E.P.).