Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Late Antiquity and Middle Ages in Europe


The Acta Sanctorum Database is an electronic version of the complete printed text of Acta Sanctorum, from the edition published in sixty-eight volumes by the Société des Bollandistes in Antwerp and Brussels. It is a collection of documents examining the lives of saints, organised according to each saint's feast day, and runs from the two January volumes published in 1643 to the Propylaeum to December published in 1940. The database contains the entire Acta Sanctorum, including all prefatory material, original texts, critical apparatus and indices. Bibliotheca Hagiographica Latina reference numbers, essential references for scholars, are also included.


The Patrologia Latina Database is an electronic version of the first edition of Jacques-Paul Migne's Patrologia Latina, published between 1844 and 1855, and the four volumes of indexes published between 1862 and 1865. The Patrologia Latina comprises the works of the Church Fathers from Tertullian in 200 AD to the death of Pope Innocent III in 1216. The database contains the complete Patrologia Latina, including all prefatory material, original texts, critical apparatus and indexes. Migne's column numbers, essential references for scholars, are also included.


Visit the Content page of the ProQuest platform libguide for more information on all the other databases which will be cross searchable with Acta and Patrologia.


Webinar Recordings

 


Provides information on both databases and is aimed at existing users. In this session you will learn about the new interface of the 2 databases in the ProQuest Platform and will identify the differences in the search, retrieval and visualization of documents with respect to the old interface in Chadwyck Healey - Duration: 64 Minutes


Powerpoint Presentations

 

A powerpoint presentation to support a 1 hour webinar that covers both databases and is aimed at existing users.