Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Periodicals Archive Online (PAO)

What is Periodicals Archive Online (PAO)?

Periodicals Archive Online contains the full backfiles of over 700 journals, digitized from volume 1, issue 1. Coverage for most titles runs to the end of 2000 or the final issue (whichever is first); journals added more recently terminate at 2005.* In total PAO provides access to over 15 million article pages, representing more than 3 million articles. The program gives undergraduate and graduate students, university faculty and libraries access to a collection of the most historically respected journals.

Periodicals Archive Online spans the full range of the humanities and social sciences, with journals in 37 subject areas. It is international in scope with the inclusion of more than 100 foreign-language titles, of value both to customers in English-speaking countries and internationally.

Use Periodicals Archive Online to help you:

  • Consult research in the full range of social sciences and humanities disciplines.
  • Locate complete journal issues, digitized cover-to-cover, with page images, fully searchable text and on-screen hit-term highlighting.
  • Get access to hundreds of journals published from 1802 to 2005, across 37 different disciplines, from over 30 countries and in more than 25 languages.
  • Add new journals to a library’s collection whilst making existing ones easier to access.
  • Acquire previously un-held journals, rare or hard to find titles/issues, completing library holdings of journal backfiles or reducing strain on aging print materials – all without increasing storage and collection management costs (all of the content in PAO would require 1.7 miles of shelving to store physically).
  • Access major, prestigious journal backfiles exclusive to PAO, such as the Spectator (Collection 7) and New Statesman (Collection 8).

* Our policy is to include every issue of each publication in full, from the first. Due to the rarity of some of the original print volumes, there small gaps (issues or pages) for some publications.

Document Samples