Embase provides comprehensive bibliographic coverage of the literature on drugs and pharmacology and of all other aspects of human medicine and related disciplines. Embase is a key resource for biomedical evidence, from published, peer-reviewed literature, in-press publications and conference abstracts.
Embase includes conference abstracts from 7,000+ biomedical, drug and medical device conferences dating back to 2009.
Full-text indexing of drug, disease and medical device data facilitates precise searching via the detailed life science thesaurus Emtree. Dialog offers an interactive thesaurus to provide full access to all these terms, their broader and narrower hierarchies, subheadings and scope notes.
EMB.EXACT("ambroxol -- drug toxicity") OR EMB.EXACT("ambroxol -- adverse drug reaction") OR EMB.EXACT("ambroxol -- drug interaction") OR EMB.EXACT("ambroxol -- special situation for pharmacovigilance") OR EMB.EXACT("ambroxol -- unexpected outcome of drug treatment")
This search incorporates the two NEW Emtree qualifiers:"special situation for pharmacology" and "unexpected outcome of drug treatment"
MJEMB.EXACT("aortic stent -- clinical trial")
This search searches for aortic stent as a Major Descriptor. Embase indexers designate a term as Major if it describes the focus of the article. There are usually no more than 3-4 major terms per article.
(EMB.EXACT("amyotrophic lateral sclerosis -- drug therapy") OR EMB.EXACT("amyotrophic lateral sclerosis -- disease management") OR EMB.EXACT("amyotrophic lateral sclerosis -- drug resistance") OR EMB.EXACT("amyotrophic lateral sclerosis -- therapy") OR EMB.EXACT("amyotrophic lateral sclerosis -- complication")) and male(yes) and (emb.exact("middle aged" OR "adult"))
This search includes the Emtree terms for ALS and various therapies. It also includes the limiters for male and the Embase-specific age group limiters for middle-aged or adult). In this search we are looking for papers that describe therapies for Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis for middle-aged or adult males.
In this example we're searching the Embase thesaurus with the drug/lab code TAK491.
When we hit enter-our drug code appears as a hyperlink, but there isn't a check box next to the name.
This means the term isn't the preferred/indexed term in Embase. Click on the hyperlink to get to the preferred term.
When we click on the blue hyperlink we're taken to the preferred term. In this case, AZILSARTAN MEDOXOMIL is the Embase preferred term for TAK491. Below, you can see broader terms in the hierarchy. If there are narrower terms, they'll be listed below the broader ones.