Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

The Vogue Archive


In this page we will show the unique search features for The Vogue Archive. Go to the Platform LibGuide for a complete guide to ProQuest's search and display features.

Advanced Search Features for Vogue America

Due to the detailed indexing of images and captions available for the Vogue Archive, the Advanced Search page offers a wide variety of fields whose indexes can be browsed via the related look up list.


Most of the Look up lists appear as soon the related field from the Advanced Search drop-down menu is selected. If a Look up is available, under the search row you will see a link to the Look up (e.g., Look up Authors). Several Look ups are also listed in the lower section of the Advanced Search page.

Click on the Look up link and in the opening window you will see a browsable and alphabetical index for that field.  There are some indexes that will not display an alphabetical list before searching for the term, rather you will have to enter a term first, and then the alphabetical list of matches will display.  Try the term in the Enter a name box, select either the Contains or Begins with options, and click on the Find button.

You will be shown a list of terms that start with (or contain) the term, and the number of documents containing each term will be provided on the right.

Once you locate the index term that you would like to add to your search, mark the item, and then click the Add to search button. The index term will now appear in the Advanced Search form along with the appropriate pull-down menu selection.  You may select multiple items by checking the box next to each, then selecting either the AND or the OR Boolean operator radio button prior to clicking the Search button.

Article Display Options


There are 2 ways to display the Document Images once the Document View is open:

the Full text tab shows the full Document images of the scanned book (the number of images which make up the whole document is displayed in the box between the navigation arrows).

The magnifying symbol will open the Flash Viewer.

The second Tab will show the full Indexing details of the document.


On the right side of the Document display page, at the top, next to the basic bibliografic data, all the tools for post processing the document are offered.

Next to the display of the full document, on the right, the bibliographic citations of items related to the current document are presented, allowing to expand your results.


Full Text tab - Open the Flash viewer

Page image via the flash player


You can open a bigger version of the viewer by clicking the plus magnifier at the top left corner of each document page .

This will open the flash viewer in a new window - you will need to close the window to return to the original document image page.

In the Flash viewer, you will see a set of controls displayed below the image. By default the image is shown centered and zoomed to 70% of its original size, if a single page, or to 35% size if the double page is dislayed, in the Flash viewer. You can use the + or - controls to enlarge or decrease the size of the image, or the 1:1 control to get the full size image, or you can rotate the image clockwise and counter-clockwise, and move it in different directions.

By clicking on the Download icon, the image can be saved as a jpg file. 

The navigator panel below the image displays a sequence of thumbnails of the pages and highlights the one you are currently displaying.

To move the image click the image itself and drag it in the chosen direction.