Skip to main content
ProQuest LibGuides Banner ProQuest LogoProQuest LibGuides homeProQuest LibGuides home

ProQuest One Literature

old editions of english literature classics

 

In this section we provide detailed descriptions of the content clusters

that compose the entire ProQuest One Literature offering.

Introduction

Based on the foundation of the well-renowned Literature Online formula, ProQuest One Literature (PQ1Lit) leverages other powerful ProQuest resources bringing together an unparalleled range of Multi-Format & Varied Content sources designed to serve many and diverse research needs in the field of the Literature and related disciplines: primary texts, full-text journals, historic literary criticism, videos, dissertations, eBooks and more.

  • The Primary texts include more than 500,000 works of poetry, prose and drama from the 8th century to the present day, mostly in English language.
    • This is a unique assembly of primary works, re-keyed from first editions or scholarly editions, based on recommendations from academic specialists. The method of production ensures 99.995%+ textual accuracy, meaning researchers can be confident that irrelevant matches are not included in result sets. PQ1Lit's primary works represent the indispensable collection of thousands of works by the most influential and studied authors as well as the works of lesser known or now forgotten literary figures.
  • This vast corpus is supported by a full library of up-to-date, fully searchable Criticism and Reference resources, in addition to the best collection of full-text scholarly journals covering all aspects of literary studies.
    • The PQ1 Lit journal collection offers access to more than Full Text 1200 journals and has a deeper back files than other resources; the average journal has coverage for 15 years. Oldest articles date back to 1850.
    • The full text of current literature journals is made discoverable through the renowned literary index - the Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL).
    • The digitized reference volumes from academic presses such as OUP and CUP, are integrated with specially commissioned author Biographies, Bibliographies and the new Author pages.
  • These main content types are enriched by the contribution of thousands of Full Text Dissertations and Ebooks focused on the Literary disciplines.
  • PQ1Lit also includes Audio and Video content through its Poets on Screen recordings of poets reading their own and others' works and the Shakespeare Audio Plays collection, and new contributions from Alexander Street.

With this combination of diverse sources and tools PQ1Lit is the best and most comprehensive online resource for the study of any aspect of literature and language at all levels.

No other literature resource offers the content and functionality of PQ1Lit. It gives users immediate access to a specialist library of current scholarship and world-leading reference titles, and, with new material added to each monthly release, is unrivaled for coverage, quality and currency. PQ1Lit is dynamic, growing regularly as new texts are converted to electronic form. The content of the service is developed with the advice of internationally known scholars, making PQ1Lit a complete environment for research, teaching and undergraduate study.

ProQuest One Literature Collections

Collection Name Content type Short Description
AVON Selective Content Audio and Video - Literature Videos 450 Literature Videos
BBC Arkangel Shakespeare Audio and Video - Drama Audio Recordings 38 Shakespeare Audio Plays
Poetry Archive Audio and Video - Poetry Audio Recordings  921 Poetry Audio Readings
Poets on Screen Audio and Video - Poetry Literature Videos 879 Poetry Readings on Film
ProQuest Author Pages Author Pages 28000
Literature & Language Ebook Collection Criticism, Primary Texts, Reference -  Ebooks 20K Ebooks Language, Literature, and Linguistics Collection
Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature, 1920- Criticism - Scholarly Bibliography ABELL Abstract and Index Literary Criticism
Historic Literary Criticism (HLC) Criticism - Full-Text Reference and Historical periodicals 300 Literary Criticism historical periodicals + 110 Routledge Authors' Critical Heritage profiles
ProQuest Literature Online Full-Text Journal Collection Criticism - Full-Text Journals 1200 F-T Journals Literary Criticism
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Selective Content Dissertations 14,400 Literature Dissertations
20thCentury African American Poetry Primary Texts - Poetry African American Literature
African American Poetry Primary Texts - Poetry African American Literature
African Writers Series Primary Texts - Prose African Literature
20thCentury Drama Primary Texts - Drama American Literature
American Drama 1714–1915 Primary Texts - Drama American Literature
20thCentury American Poetry Primary Texts - Poetry American Literature
20thCentury American Poetry, Second Edition Primary Texts - Poetry American Literature
American Poetry Primary Texts - Poetry American Literature
Early American Fiction 1789–1875 Primary Texts - Prose American Literature
Caribbean Literature Primary Texts - Multi-Genre Black Writing Collection
Black Short Fiction and Folklore Primary Texts - Prose Black Writing Collection
Black Women Writers Primary Texts - Prose Black Writing Collection
Canadian Poetry Primary Texts - Poetry Canadian Literature
18thCentury Fiction Primary Texts - Prose Eighteenth-Century Literature
19thCentury Fiction Primary Texts - Prose Nineteenth-Century Literature
20thCentury English Poetry Primary Texts - Poetry English Literature
English Drama Primary Texts - Drama English Literature
English Poetry Primary Texts - Poetry English Literature
English Poetry, Second Edition Primary Texts - Poetry English Literature
The Faber Poetry Library Primary Texts - Poetry English Literature
Early English Prose Fiction Primary Texts - Prose English Literature
Irish Women Poets of the Romantic Period (IWRP) Primary Texts - Poetry Irish Literature
W.B. Yeats Collection Primary Texts - Poetry Irish Literature
Scottish Women Poets of the Romantic Period (SWRP) Primary Texts - Poetry Scottish Literature
Teatro Español del Siglo de Oro -  forthcoming Primary Texts - Drama World Literature Collection
German Lyrik Poetry (Die Deutsche Lyrik) -  forthcoming Primary Texts - Poetry World Literature Collection
Brechts Werke -  forthcoming Primary Texts - Multi-Genre World Literature Collection
Digitale Bibliothek Deutscher Klassiker (DKV) -  forthcoming Primary Texts - Multi-Genre World Literature Collection
Goethes Werke -  forthcoming Primary Texts - Multi-Genre World Literature Collection
Kafkas Werke (Kritische Ausgabe) -  forthcoming Primary Texts - Multi-Genre World Literature Collection
Schillers Werke -  forthcoming Primary Texts - Multi-Genre World Literature Collection
Latin American Women Writers Primary Texts - Multi-Genre World Literature Collection
Latino Literature: Poetry, Drama, and Fiction Primary Texts - Multi-Genre World Literature Collection
South and Southeast Asian Literature in English Primary Texts - Multi-Genre World Literature Collection
Literary Theory Primary Texts - Reference Literary Theory & Methods
Literature Online Bibliographies Reference - Bibliography 1540
Literature Online Biographies Reference - Biography 7411
Cambridge Companions to Literature Reference - Companions 5800 Introductions to Key Works
Literature Online Reference Works Reference - Encyclopedias 32 repertoires
ProQuest Literary Movement/Literary Work Pages‎ Reference - Overviews 120
ProQuest Knowledge Notes Reference - Overviews 230
New Essays on the American Novel Reference - Prose