ProQuest has hundreds of our products that touch the research lifecycle including many that are getting upgrades late this summer and fall. To be informed about upcoming changes, watch this page: http://www.proquest.com/productupgrades and sign up for updates; we will post new information as it becomes available. To keep up with the upgrades, our LibGuides are also being updated, so this LibGuide may not match the interface you see for a short while.
Sign up here for a webinar to find out more about the changes .
ARTS, BUSINESS, EDUCATION, HUMANITIES and SOCIAL SCIENCES
BEHAVIORAL, NATURAL and PHYSICAL SCIENCES
With more than 3 million entries, ProQuest Dissertations & Theses (PQDT) is the most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses in the world.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses allows:
The database includes bibliographic citations for materials ranging from the first U.S. dissertation, accepted in 1861 as well as European dissertations back from the 17th century, to those accepted as recently as last semester.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses is the official dissertations repository for the Library of Congress and the publishing partner of the National Library of Canada.
The full text of more than 2.1 million of these titles is available in paper, microform, and electronic (if subscription allows) formats. Institutional subscribers to ProQuest Dissertation & Theses Full-Text receive online access to the complete file of dissertations in digital format for hundreds of thousands of titles published before 1997, as well as every title from 1997 forward.
PQDT offers access to the first 10% of the dissertation (up to 24 pages) for those dissertations and theses available in electronic form.
PQDT is updated weekly and features 24 indexed and searchable fields, including full text searchability.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global incorporates expanded access to international scholarly works, from the UK to Continental Europe and China.
Our partnerships with universities have been key to expanding the reach and impact of graduate works. By working together, the visibility of both the institution and its PhD dissertation production are enhanced in the worldwide research community.
Now, ProQuest is adding full text for premier academic institutions, such as:
Also, ProQuest joined forces with China Academic Library and Information System (CALIS) to provide first-ever global access to abstracts of the graduate output of 80 Chinese Universities.
In summary, PQDT Global offers access to the full range of ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Full Text content plus additional international content (over 1.5 million PHD dissertations in overall). It also includes PQDT - UK & Ireland, which grants access to over 500,000 abstracts from UK & Irish PhD theses (the content from our PQDT - UK & Ireland database).
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses — UK & Ireland (also known as Index to Theses) is the most comprehensive available record of doctoral theses from the United Kingdom and Ireland.
The corpus of U.K. and Ireland dissertations and master’s theses in this resource currently comprises over half a million records, with some additional 15,000 citations added annually.
The collection offers:
A growing number of open-access U.K. and Ireland theses are listed on institutional repositories, but they are only a small percentage of the total number of theses produced annually.
Unlike institutional repositories, PQDT — UK & Ireland does not rely on individual academics to upload their works, ensuring coverage from leading British universities. PQDT — UK & Ireland also offers consistent bibliographic standards across all records, and easy cross searching of all U.K. graduate works, as well as global coverage when combined with ProQuest Dissertations and Theses (PQDT).
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses is the official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress and the collection includes work by authors from more than 1,700 graduate schools and universities the world over, and covers every conceivable subject.
Every major research university in the United States and Canada is represented in the database and there is also a decent and growing international coverage.
PQDT offers access to 3 million citations to dissertations and theses from around the world from 1861 to the present day together with over a million full text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. Over 2.1 million titles are available for purchase as printed copies. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works. Over 80,000 new dissertations and theses are added to the database each year.