Skip to main content
ProQuest LogoProQuest LibGuides homeProQuest LibGuides homeAbout your ProQuest LibGuides CreatorsSee our listing of webinarsUsing or Re-using our guidesImage Map

Digital National Security Archive (DNSA): About

Product Upgrades

ProQuest has hundreds of our products that touch the research lifecycle including many that are getting upgrades late this summer and fall.  To be informed about upcoming changes, watch this page: and sign up for updates; we will post new information as it becomes available. To keep up with the upgrades, our LibGuides are also being updated, so this LibGuide may not match the interface you see for a short while.

Sign up here for a webinar to find out more about the changes .

About the DNSA

ProQuest, in partnership with The National Security Archive produce the Digital National Security Archive , the most comprehensive collection available of significant primary documents central to U.S. foreign and military policy since 1945. Now totaling 44 collections that cover the most critical world events, countries, and U.S. policy decisions from post-World War II through the 21st century, DNSA provides unparalleled access to the defining international strategies of our time with more than 104,000 indexed, declassified government documents including more than 733,000 pages of material. Many are published now for the first time.

The National Security Archive is a non-profit research institute and library, located at The George Washington University in Washington, D.C., which provides unprecedented public access to declassified government documents obtained through extensive use of the U.S. Freedom of Information Act (FOIA).

DNSA Migration to the ProQuest Platform!

In late spring 2015, the Digital National Security Archive (DNSA) moved to join hundreds of other resources on the ProQuest platform.  Resources here explain the changes and note things you can do while we are in the dual access time (access through both the legacy platform and the ProQuest platform).

About the National Security Archive

Founded in 1985 by journalists and scholars to check rising government secrecy, the National Security Archive combines a unique range of functions: investigative journalism center, research institute on international affairs, library and archive of declassified U.S. documents ("the world's largest nongovernmental collection" according to the Los Angeles Times), leading non-profit user of the U.S. Freedom of Information Act, public interest law firm defending and expanding public access to government information, global advocate of open government, and indexer and publisher of former secrets.


DNSA collections

Below and to the right are collections grouped by subject.  To see a list of collections in alphabetical order, with bookmarks, click here.