Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

OASIS & Rialto Services: Cataloging Setup Form

Check the tabs below for information and setup options on Cataloging, Processing, Ebook/Publisher Direct Setup, and OASIS Holdings Matching services

Cataloging Form Link Instructions

The Cataloging Form (here) has many options depending on what type of cataloging services your library needs.

The sample scenarios below will help guide you through the forms as well as provide you a general time frame in which it will take you to complete the form.  Please look at the example PDFs below prior to completing your form. Here are some hints to get you started:

  • Most of the questions are multiple choice and some offer the chance for including your own information in a short text box.  
  • If the choices are radio buttons (circles), it is a unilateral choice.  Only one option can be selected.
  • If the choices are check boxes, you may select more than one option.

It is suggested you complete the form in one session although there is an option at various sections in the form to Save and Resume.  This feature works by sending you a weblink by email that you will need to access to complete the form later. 

NOTE:  Any files you upload will NOT stay attached during a save, so you will want to upload them immediately before submitting.

 

ProQuest Custom Cataloging Information:

All MARC records are derived from authoritative, commercially available sources via OCLC, including The Library of Congress, Library and Archives Canada, The National Library of Medicine, and The British Library. All cataloging is diligently completed in accordance with each library’s detailed and often unique specifications. Quality control is central to our process.

Cataloging - Generic – Records, which are derived from commercially available sources, are not modified in any way and are provided only for those items on which we achieve a match on the bibliographic database. Search strategies used: ISBN, Title (includes no authorization of name, subject, series, or title headings).
Cataloging - Derived with Minimal Level Record upgrade – Records are derived from commercially available sources, and those with limited data are upgraded to full RDA or AACR2 cataloging standards and MARC 21 bibliographic format standards to correspond with book in hand. This may include adding full title information, page, and/or publication information to a record that lacks these elements. Includes authorization of headings on series titles only.
Cataloging - Custom – Records are derived from commercially available sources and modified to meet the library’s specifications. This may include adding local fields, location codes, assignment of unique call numbers (shelf-listing), and scanning of barcode numbers. Only records where derived copy is available are provided. Includes authorization of name, title and subject headings.
Cataloging - Original – Catalogers will provide original cataloging on books where derived records are not available from commercially available sources. This is done to individual customer specifications and includes authorization of all names, subject and title headings.
Labels – Labels can be created according to detailed and unique library specifications.
All records, except for Cataloging-Generic, are checked for typographical errors and brought up to full RDA or AACR2 cataloging and MARC 21 bibliographic format standards to correspond with book in hand. Labels may also be provided.

There will be charges associated with cataloging services. If you have questions relating to charges, please contact your ProQuest Books Specialist.

 

Cataloging Through OCLC

This is a very simple set of questions.  

As soon as you indicate that you want to use OCLC WorldShare Collection Manager as your source of cataloging (and spine labels, if desired), you only have a couple more questions to answer:

  • Do you want labels produced by OCLC WorldShare Collection Manager and if so what kind: spine and/or pocket
  • Do you want flags for items that do not have labels from OCLC.

Done!  Click submit and you will receive a confirmation notice in the browser that your form has been submitted.  The cataloging contact will also receive a confirmation email. 

Below is a sample of what the completed form will look like.  You can expect this to take between 5-7 minutes if you do not need to work with OCLC for anything.  

 

This is the message provided in the form for your information:

In this process, ProQuest Books sends a file of information – fund code, location code, barcode, etc. – to OCLC as part of processing and invoicing. This information is based upon the data we have in the order record at the time of the order. Based upon the profile set up in WorldShare Collection Manager, this data creates MARC records and spine labels according to your specifications and shelf-ready needs.

OCLC has an extensive matching algorithm, and provides you with MARC records, including manifest, via FTP. The label file will go directly to ProQuest Books to be part of the processing of your shelf-ready materials.

Your library will be responsible for creating and maintaining the profile in the: WorldShare Collection Manager Profile. This important profile is used to determine what data is included in the MARC records returned to you as well as the spine label formatting (assuming you wish to use those spine labels).

Our configuration team is ready to assist you with the setup or use of this service. We also can point you to help at OCLC.

Cataloging Through ProQuest Books

This process is definitely more lengthy as there are many options to meet your cataloging needs.  The good news is that the form is conditional--meaning if you say "no" to something, you won't see any more options related to that question.

As soon as you indicate that you library will use ProQuest Books to provide cataloging (and spine labels, if desired), you will proceed through various questions including

  • maximum level of cataloging required 
  • shelflisting (call number class and MARC field--URL of catalog is required for facilitation)
  • choice of catalog sources
  • choice of call numbers
  • which MARC field for call number?
  • choice of subject headings
  • authority control
  • flagging of special attention items

There will then be a section for MARC records asking if you want MARCS via FTP server or email attachment.  You will also be given the option to upload a file with what fields you would like included (including 9XX fields).  Brief MARC records are at no charge; customized MARC records are a per item charge. NOTE:  You will be asked to upload a sample MARC record.  

The next section asks if you would like spine labels.  If yes, you will asked additional questions:

  • types (spine, pocket and what your preferences are for those such as location, oversize, additional copies,etc)
  • label material and how many labels
  • font type and size
  • uploading of sample spine and pocket label images

So, consider preparing these things in advance so when you're ready to submit the form, things will be smooth.  

Below are samples of what the completed forms may look like. 

Non-Dewey Cataloging:  You can expect this to take approximately 20 minutes if you are prepared with your information and files for uploading.

Dewey Cataloging:  You can expect this to take approximately 20-30 minutes if you are prepared with your information and files for uploading.