Banner Image

ASFA: Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts: About

A guide to all aspects of ASFA: Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts including content, searching, and viewing results on the ProQuest platform.
Publication Types

There are 21 publications types in ASFA. A citation can have more than one Publication Type; for example, many dissertations are also book monographs; many journal articles are also conferences, summaries and/or reviews

  • Bibliography
  • Book Monograph
  • Computer
  • Computer file
  • Conference
  • Dictionary
  • Dissertation
  • Drawing
  • Film
  • Journal Article
  • Law or statue
  • Map
  • Numerical Data
  • Patent
  • Report
  • Review
  • Sound recording
  • Summary
  • Standard, training manual
What is ASFA: Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts?

This database provides extensive coverage of the world's literature on the science, technology, management, and conservation of marine, brackish water, and freshwater resources and environments, including their socio-economic and legal aspects. ProQuest Deep Indexing: Aquatic Sciences supplements ASFA with access to over a million indexed charts, figures, graphs, maps, photographs, and tables from the scholarly research and technical literature.

Overwhelmingly cited by a majority of aquatic science librarians as their primary database, the ASFA series is the premier reference in the field of aquatic resources. Input to ASFA is provided by a growing international network of information centers monitoring over 5,000 serial publications, books, reports, conference proceedings, translations and limited distribution literature.

ASFA is the principal component of the Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Information System (ASFIS) (http://www.fao.org/fishery/asfa/faq/en), an international cooperative information system for the collection and dissemination of information covering the science, technology and management of marine, brackishwater, and freshwater environments.

ASFA is produced under auspices of the ASFA Partnership, a network that includes four United Nations sponsoring agencies and more than 60 international and national partners, each tasked with reviewing and indexing the aquatic literature published in their region. For over 30 years, ASFA has been published and distributed worldwide under a cooperative agreement between ProQuest and the Food & Agriculture Organization of the United Nations. (http://www.fao.org/fishery/asfa/about/en)

Although primarily English language, publications in over 40 other languages are translated and indexed for inclusion in ASFA. Updated monthly, with approximately 3,700 new records added.

An ASFA searcher has access to the five ASFA-specific subfiles, as well as complementary access to Oceanic Abstracts and ProQuest Deep Indexing : Aquatic Sciences:

Aquatic Science & Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA) 1: Biological Sciences & Living Resources
Aquatic Science & Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA) 2: Ocean Technology, Policy & Non-Living Resources
Aquatic Science & Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA) 3: Aquatic Pollution & Environmental Quality
Aquatic Science & Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA) Aquaculture Abstracts
Aquatic Science & Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA) Marine Biotechnology Abstracts
Oceanic Abstracts
ProQuest Deep Indexing: Aquatic Sciences

Note: These databases can also be searched on their own. This LibGuide focuses on the search features and content available in ASFA.

ProQuest Illustrata™ Deep Indexing

We've indexed 2.3 million figures, photos, graphs and tables from over 800 journal titles to enhance discoverability within the ASFA database. Indexed images enhance researchers' ability to retrieve the most relevant literature - an article featuring a relevant table indexed with terms matching your search query is very likely to be highly relevant to your research.

See the Figures & Tables Search page in this guide to begin uncovering the indexed images.

ProQuest Platform Videos
Selection Policy

Articles in ASFA journals are indexed based on a policy of either “core” or “selective” status. Core journals are those for which we index all of the major, feature articles. Selective journals are those for which we choose only those articles that pertain directly to the particular ASFA database. Since the ASFA subfiles have different focuses, the same article will not necessarily appear in all of them.

Publication Coverage

To view the latest title list and publication coverage, please visit:

Using ProQuest LibGuides | Webinars & Screencasts | Discover More Corps | Accessability | ProQuest