Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ProQuest LibGuides Banner ProQuest LogoProQuest LibGuides homeProQuest LibGuides home

Training and Support Resources in Greek Language

Οδηγός χρήσης των προϊόντων της ProQuest για τους Έλληνες & Κύπριους πελάτες μας

What is Periodicals Archive Online (PAO)

Το Periodicals Archive Online (PAO) είναι ένα ψηφιακό αρχείο στις ανθρωπιστικές και κοινωνικές επιστήμες το οποίο προσφέρει σε ηλεκτρονική μορφή το πλήρες κείμενο παλαιτέρων τευχών επιστημονικών περιοδικών  τα οποία έχουν ευρετηριαστεί στη σχετιζόμενη βάση δεδομένων Periodicals Index Online (PIO).

Αυτό το υψηλής πιστότητας ψηφιακό αρχείο περιέχει όλα τα παλαιότερα τεύχη 700+ πλήρως ψηφιοποιημένων περιοδικών από το 1ο τεύχος του 1ου τόμου, με εικόνες, πλήρως αναζητήσιμο κείμενο και επισήμανση πάνω στην οθόνη των όρων αναζήτησης. Η κάλυψη ορισμένων ιστορικών τίτλων ξεκινάει από το 1802 και για τους περισσότερους τίτλους έως το τέλος του 2000 ή του τελευταίου τεύχους (οποιοδήποτε έρχεται πρώτο) ενώ περιοδικά τα οποία προστέθηκαν πιο πρόσφατα φτάνουν έως το 2005.

Συνολικά το ΡΑΟ παρέχει πρόσβαση σε πάνω απο 15 εκατομμύρια σελίδες άρθρων αντιπροσωπεύοντας πάνω από 3 εκατομμύρια άρθρα. Το αρχείο αυτό παρέχει σε πτυχιακούς και μεταπτυχιακούς φοιτητές, καθηγητές και βιβλιοθήκες πρόσβαση σε μία συλλογή που περιέχει τα ιστορικώς, πιο αναγνωρισμένα περιοδικά.

Η εστίαση των περιοδικών καλύπτει όλο το εύρος των ανθρωπιστικών και κοινωνικών επιστημών με περιοδικά σε 37 θεματικές κατηγορίες. Διαθέτει ένα διεθνές πεδίο εφαρμογής με την συμπερίληψη περισσοτέρων από 100 τίτλων σε 25 γλώσσες απο 30+ χώρες καθιστώντας το πολύτιμο, τόσο για τις Αγγλόφωνες χώρες όσο και διεθνώς.

* Η πολιτική μας είναι να συμπεριλαμβάνουμε πλήρως όλα τα τεύχη της κάθε έκδοσης από την αρχή. Λόγω της σπανιότητας ορισμένων αυθεντικών έντυπων τόμων μπορεί να ύπάρχουν και κάποια μικρά κενά (τεύχη ή σελίδες) για κάποιες εκδόσεις

Periodicals Archive Online (PAO) is a major digital archive that makes the backfiles of scholarly periodicals in the humanities and social sciences available electronically, providing access to the full text of a growing number of journals that have been indexed in its sister database, Periodicals Index Online (PIO).

This high resolution digital archive contains the full backfiles of over 700 journals, digitized cover-to-cover, from volume 1, issue 1, with page images, fully searchable text and on-screen hit-term highlighting. Coverage of some historical journals goes back to 1802, and for most titles runs to the end of 2000 or the final issue (whichever is first); journals added more recently terminate at 2005.*  

In total PAO provides access to over 15 million article pages, representing more than 3 million articles. The program gives undergraduate and graduate students, university faculty and libraries access to a collection of the most historically respected journals.

The focus of the periodicals spans the full range of the humanities and social sciences, with journals in 37 subject areas. It is international in scope with the inclusion of more than 100 titles in 25 languages from over 30 countries, of value both to customers in English-speaking countries and internationally.

 

* Our policy is to include every issue of each publication in full, from the first. Due to the rarity of some of the original print volumes, there may be small gaps (issues or pages) for some publications.

Document samples

 

Click on each figure to open a larger, high-definition version.


Other Digital Archives

  • American Periodicals                                                                     Harper's Bazaar (US/UK)
  • Art and Architecture Archive                                                         Health & Fitness Magazine Archive
  • British Periodicals                                                                           LGBT Magazine Archive
  • Country Life Archive                                                                       Men's Magazine Archive
  • The Cecil Papers                                                                             News Policy and Politics Magazine Archive
  • Colonial State Papers                                                                     PQ Digitized Newspapers (Canada, UK, US)
  • Digital National Security Archive                                                  PQ Historical Newspapers (US & Intl)
  • Document of British Policy Overseas                                          Religious Magazine Archive                                    
  • Early European Books                                                                    Trench Journals and Unit Magazines of the IWW
  • Early English Books Online                                                           The Vogue Archive (America)
  • Education Magazine Archive                                                        The Vogue Italia Archive
  • Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive                                 Women's Magazines Archive
  • The GQ  Archive                                                                              The Women Wear Daily Archive

Also in this page

Θεματικές κατηγορίες - Subject Categories

Τα ψηφιοποιημένα άρθρα στο ΡΑΟ κατατάσσονται στις εξής 37 θεματικές κατηγορίες οι οποίες μπορούν να χρησιμοποιηθούν κατά την αναζήτηση για να την περιορίσουν σε συγκεκριμένους επιστημονικούς κλάδους

  1. Γεωπονική
  2. Αρχαίοι πολιτισμοί
  3. Ανθρωπολογία/Εθνολογία
  4. Εφαρμοσμένες τέχνες
  5. Αρχαιολογία
  6. Αρχιτεκτονική
  7. Σπουδές γεωγραφικών περιοχών - Αφρική
  8. Σπουδές γεωγραφικών περιοχών - Ασία
  9. Σπουδές γεωγραφικών περιοχών - Αυστραλασία
  10. Σπουδές γεωγραφικών περιοχών - Ευρώπη
  11. Σπουδές γεωγραφικών περιοχών – Μέση Ανατολή
  12. Σπουδές Μαύρης Φυλής
  13. Επιχειρήσεις/Διαχείριση
  14. Οικονομικά
  15. Εκπαίδευση
  16. Καλές Τέχνες
  17. Λαογραφία
  18. Γεωγραφία
  19. Ιστορία (Γενική)
  20. Ιστορια (Αμερική)
  21. Ανθρωπιστικές επιστήμες (Γενικάl)
  22. Εβραϊκές σπουδές
  23. Νομική
  24. Επιστήμη Βιβλιοθηκονομίας / Πληροφορίας
  25. Γλωσσολογία/Φιλολογία
  26. Λογοτεχνία
  27. Μουσική
  28. Τέχνες του Θεάματος
  29. Φιλοσοφία
  30. Πολιτική Επιστήμη
  31. Ψυχολογία
  32. Δημόσια Διοίκηση
  33. Θρησκεία/Θεολογία
  34. Κοινωνικά θέματα
  35. Κοινωνικές Επιστήμες (Γενικά)
  36. Κοινωνιολογία
  37. Σπουδές Γυναικών

The digitized articles in PAO are classified by the following 37 categories, which can also be used in the search to restrict to specific disciplines

  1. Agriculture
  2. Ancient Civilisations
  3. Anthropology/Ethnology
  4. Applied Arts
  5. Archaeology
  6. Architecture
  7. Area Studies - Africa
  8. Area Studies - Asia
  9. Area Studies - Australasia
  10. Area Studies - Europe
  11. Area Studies - Middle East
  12. Black Studies
  13. Business/Management
  14. Economics
  15. Education
  16. Fine Arts
  17. Folklore
  18. Geography
  19. History (General)
  20. History (The Americas)
  21. Humanities (General)
  22. Jewish Studies
  23. Law
  24. Library/Information Science
  25. Linguistics/Philology
  26. Literature
  27. Music
  28. Performing Arts
  29. Philosophy
  30. Political Science
  31. Psychology
  32. Public Administration
  33. Religion/Theology
  34. Social Affairs
  35. Social Sciences (General)
  36. Sociology
  37. Women's Studies