Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Health Research Premium Collection

In this page we will show the unique search features for Health Research Premium Collection. Go to the ProQuest Platform LibGuide for a complete guide to ProQuest's search and display features.

Health Research Premium Collection Advanced Search Limiters

Health Research Premium Collection provides additional unique Advanced Search limiters designed for critical research across its multiple collections.  When running field searches at the top of the screen, rapid access to limiters for articles that differentiate between Humans, Animals, Males, and Females are provided, as shown below.

Human, animal, and gender limiters

In the lower portion of the Advanced Search screen, in addition to the regular Source Type, Document Type, and Language limiters, frequently required limiters in medical research for Age Group are also provided.

Age group limiter options

MeSH Thesaurus

Health Research Premium Collection provides indexing for medical journals associated with the National Library of Medicine, and provides the MeSH Thesaurus as a search engine for locating distinct topical content through this controlled vocabulary.

To access, click the Thesaurus link above the search fields in Advanced Search.

Advanced Search Main Menu Thesaurus image

You will have a choice of either the ProQuest Thesaurus, which provides a controlled vocabulary across all ProQuest databases, or the MeSH Thesaurus, which is specific to medical databases and collections.  Click the MeSH Thesaurus link to access.

Thesaurus List image

Once you search a term, such as Arthritis, you will have a scrollable list of results.  Those terms with a checkbox are official terms that are indexed.  Other terms point to officially indexed terms with a different nomenclature.  Notes define a term, and Qualifiers provide additional terms that focus on a specific relationship to the main term.

MeSH Thesaurus search results image

Once you have accessed an indexed term, you may view it from a Relational (broader and narrower) view, or you may view it from a Hierarchical view, which will show its hierarchical pathway from the Root of the MeSH Thesaurus. 

When you have chosen an indexed term, you may look specifically either choose Major, which will look only at those items that have that topic as a major focus, or you may expand to Explode, which will include all narrower terms to your selected term in the search.  Then you may Add to search.

MeSH thesaurus view edit Add to Search image

See the MEDLINE: Using MeSH Subjects and Thesaurus e-learning module to learn more about features and functions of the MeSH Thesaurus in Health Research Premium Collection.