Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ProQuest LibGuides Banner ProQuest LogoProQuest LibGuides homeProQuest LibGuides home

Literature Online (LION)

Content

Literature Online (LION) contains more than 350,000 works of poetry, prose and drama from the 8th century to the present day, in English language. This is a unique assembly of primary works, re-keyed from first editions or scholarly editions, based on recommendations from academic specialists. The method of production ensures 99.995%+ textual accuracy, meaning researchers can be confident that irrelevant matches are not included in result sets. The Literature Online platform offers a clean, simple advanced search page, with key search fields clearly visible at the top, and browse lists easily accessible.

LION’s primary works represent the indispensable collection of thousands of works by the most influential and studied authors as well as the works of lesser known or now forgotten literary figures. This vast corpus is supported by a full library of up-to-date, fully searchable criticism and reference resources, in addition to the best collection of full-text scholarly journals covering all aspects of literary studies.

The full text of current literature journals is made discoverable through a renowned literary index - the Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL)This is an index created by the Modern Humanities Research Association (MHRA), which is exclusively available from ProQuest. 

  • LION’s journal collection offers access to more than 430 journals and 460,000 full text articles
  • LION’s journal collection has deeper back files than other resources; the average journal has coverage for 15 years
  • 75% of LION’s journal collection is peer reviewed

Literature Online also includes audio and video content through its Poets on Screen recordings of poets reading their own and others' works and the Shakespeare Audio Plays collection.

Please see documents below for more information about  Literature Online content.