Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

MEDLINE®

MEDLINE® Content and Subject Coverage

MEDLINE® Content

MEDLINE® contains millions of citations and abstracts, providing unparalleled access to worldwide biomedical literature. The database contains a broad range of medical topics relating to research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and health care services. Produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE contains all records published in Index Medicus and since 2002, most citations previously included in separate NLM specialty databases such as SPACELINE and HISTLINE. Subject content includes anatomy; communication disorders; microbiology; paramedical professions; pathology; physiology; psychiatry; toxicology; dentistry; parasitology; reproductive biology; epidemiology; gene therapy; surgical and pharmaceutical intervention; nursing practice; ethical and legal issues; institutional operations; laboratory techniques and procedures; diagnosis and management; clinical research trials and experimental treatment protocols; legislation and regulation; allied health specialties; continuing education; investigational drugs and new drug uses, and some veterinary medicine.

 

Users may seamlessly link to publications available in other ProQuest health products offered as part of the institution’s subscription, or to other open access full-text when it is available, or other full-text sources through a link resolver.

 

Subject coverage includes:

  • Allergy and Immunology
  • Audiology
  • Behavioral Sciences
  • Biochemistry
  • Cardiology
  • Complementary Therapies
  • Dentistry
  • Emergency Medicine
  • Epidemiology
  • Forensic Sciences
  • Gastroenterology
  • Hematology
  • Internal Medicine
  • Medical Informatics
  • Molecular Biology
  • Nursing
  • Obstetrics
  • Pathology
  • Radiology
  • Sports Medicine
  • Therapeutics
  • Toxicology

MEDLINE® can also be searched as part of:

  • Biological Science Collection
  • SciTech Premium Collection
  • Health Research Premium Collection
  • Natural Science Collection
  • Biological Science Index