Skip to main content
ProQuest LogoProQuest LibGuides homeProQuest LibGuides home

Regulatory Insight

Regulatory Histories created by ProQuest for enacted Public Laws

About Content Types

This page contains descriptions for the content types listed on the Advanced Search page of Regulatory Insight. Read the descriptions to learn more about the content types featured in the product.

Agency View

Agency view provides a view of historic rulemaking by an agency. It includes Final Rules as published in Federal Register articles.  These final rules pertain to Code of Federal Regulation parts this agency has jurisdiction over.

Agencies that are currently engaging in rulemaking (e.g. within the last 2 years) will also contain a link to obtain all proposed and final rules issued by the agency in the last 2 years.

Content and metadata included in each Agency View:

The summary includes:

  • The Agency Name and Associated Department (Note: if a department issues rules directly in addition to/instead of through its agencies, there will also be a separate Department View page)
  • Links to Agency Views pages for the other agencies in that department
  • Predecessor/Successor information:  links to agency view for when that agency belonged to a different department, or had a different name
  • Agencies with Related Jurisdiction: links to agency view for:  agencies that have jurisdiction over the same CFR part, or when a CFR part moved from one agency to another
  • Date the last rule was published
  • CFR parts the agency has jurisdiction over, organized by title, with links to the CFR full text
  • Subject terms associated with the CFR parts

 

Final rules:

Agency View compiles Federal Register articles containing final rules for CFR parts the agency has jurisdiction over.

  • F.R. article-related Information and content:
    • Action (such as Final rule; Final rule – correction; etc.)
    • Federal Register citation (volume and page)
    • Article title
    • Date
    • Federal Register Volume and Issue Number
    • Regulation Identifier Number (RIN), if available: unique ID assigned by the Regulatory Information Service Center to identify each regulatory action listed in the Unified Agenda.
    • Agency Docket Number, if available: An agency may include a docket number, which identifies the document within the agency's internal filing system

Each Federal Register article includes a link to a fully searchable PDF.

By default the Federal Register articles are organized by CFR Part.   Note: an FR article may appear in more than one CFR part and will display accordingly. 

Within each CFR part, the final rules are displayed together, organized by RIN or Docket Number.  If there are multiple FR articles with the same RIN or Docket Number, the earliest final rule will display, with a link to see Additional actions.  We will then will display the additional FR articles (corrections, etc.).

Please note: many agencies issue a very large number of final rules.  If an agency has a large number of rules, the page may also be organized hierarchically, such that you will first choose the Title or CFR part before displaying the relevant FR articles.

Changing the default from CFR part to chronological sort will produce a simple chronological display, either from oldest to newest, or the reverse.

Using the Filters:

You can filter the list of final rules to those associated with a specific CFR part, pertaining to a specific subject, or by date

Searching Within a History:

You can search within the text of associated Federal Register articles to locate those that mention specific terms

Code of Federal Regulations  

The Code of Federal Regulations is the subject based codification of the final rules published in the FR. It lists the FR source for the regulations, as well as the legal authority. Each Regulatory History associated with a Public Law includes links from the final rules to the CFR Part Affected. 

The CFR is the codification of the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by the executive departments and agencies of the Federal Government. It is divided into 50 titles that represent broad areas subject to Federal regulation. Each volume of the CFR is updated once each calendar year and is issued on a quarterly basis on a staggered schedule:

  • Titles 1-16: updated as of January 1
  • Titles 17-27: updated  as of April 1
  • Titles 28-41: updated as of July 1
  • Titles 42-50: updated as of October 1

The CFR is organized by Title (broad subject area); Chapter (rules of an individual agency); Part (rules on a single program or function); Section (rules on one provision of program/function); and Paragraph (detailed, specific requirement). Sections may contain up to 6 levels of paragraphs.

CFR Parts and Sections include Authority notes citing the US Code or other legal authority for the rule; and Source notes citing the specific FR articles that provide the relevant final rules. There is not always a separate authority for each section; a single Authority note can apply to an entire Part.

Comments Archive - What is included?

Regulatory Insight includes:

  • comments posted from January 1, 2017 onward pertaining to Federal Register articles (e.g. notices, proposed rules and rules)
  • retrospective comments relating to Dockets which were open for comment in 2016 and appear in our Regulatory Histories

Federal Register  

The Federal Register (FR) publishes Presidential Documents, Notices, Proposed Rules, and Rules. The proposed rules and final rules cite the sections of the CFR that the rulemaking proposes to affect and then finally does affect when it is finalized. Each Regulatory History associated with a Public Law contains fully searchable PDFs of each Federal Register article related to the rulemaking process associated with the law. 

The FR is published by the Office of the Federal Register, National Archives and Records Administration (NARA). It is the official "gazette" of the United States Government giving documents from resource evidentiary status. FR is published every federal business day; but not on federal holidays or weekends.

Regulatory History – Executive Order

Regulatory History – Executive Order  

Regulatory histories associated with an Executive Order are compilations of Federal Register articles associated with a specific Executive Order. These histories are compiled by human researchers. Once the history is compiled, the editorial team reviews the compilation for accuracy.

The summary includes:

  • E.O.-Related Information and content: E.O. number and title; E.O. date and issuing administration; the Federal Register article that publishes that E.O.; a searchable PDF of the E.O.; and information about other related E.O.s (amending, superseded, etc.)
  • CFR information and content: the CFR Parts Affected. The CFR citations link to the current version of the CFR. The CFR Parts listed are associated with the FR article final rules included on the history page.
  • Subject terms: Subject terms are associated with the E.O. History based on the CFR parts.
  • Federal Register articles: Regulatory histories associated with an Executive Order compile Federal Register articles from rulemakings directly associated with that E.O.. Each Federal Register article has been selected for inclusion in a regulatory history by a ProQuest legal researcher on the basis that it is directly associated with the E.O.
  • F.R. article-related Information and content:
    • Issuing Department and/or Agency
    • Category (such as Notices, Proposed Rule, Rule)
    • Federal Register citation (volume and page)
    • Article title
    • Date
    • Federal Register Volume and Issue Number
    • Regulation Identifier Number (RIN), if available: unique ID assigned by the Regulatory Information Service Center to identify each regulatory action listed in the Unified Agenda.
    • Agency Docket Number, if available: An agency may include a docket number, which identifies the document within the agency's internal filing system
    • CFR citation listed in FR articles for proposed rules and rules

Each Federal Register article includes a link to a fully searchable PDF. Each final rule includes a link to the version of the CFR contemporaneous with the FR article.

By default the Federal Register articles within a regulatory history are organized into department/agency groupings so that all of the proposed rules issued by a single department/agencies are displayed together. Within the department/agency grouping, the proposed and final rules for each rulemaking are displayed together, organized by RIN, whenever possible, or Docket Number. Changing the default from agency to chronological sort will produce a simple chronological display, either from oldest to newest, or the reverse.

Using the Filters

You can filter the list of Federal Register articles to those associated with an agency of interest, or those belonging to a specific category (for instance, Proposed Rules).

Searching Within a History

You can search within the text of associated Federal Register articles to locate those that mention specific terms

Regulatory History - Public Law  

Regulatory histories associated with a public law are compilations of Federal Register articles associated with a specific public law. These histories are compiled by human researchers. The first thing that happens is that all FR articles that mention a law specifically by citation, short title, popular name, cited act or any other way that refers specifically to the law are brought together for review by the researcher who examines each article to determine whether or not it is directly associated with the law. An article that says something like “P.L. 111-XYZ was enacted since this rulemaking began, but was not considered in the making of this rule” would obviously not be included, but many things are taken into account as the decision to include/exclude is made. In addition to consulting the text of the Federal Register articles, researchers check such sources as the C.F.R.,  the Public Law text, and, at times, the Parallel Table of  Authorities and Rules. Once the history is compiled, the editorial team reviews the compilation for accuracy.

ProQuest Regulatory Histories Associated with a Public Law 1936-Present

These histories are organized by Public Law number to facilitate the ability of researchers interested in combining regulatory history research with P.L.-based legislative history research to follow the trail from the first bill introduced through the enactment of a law to the final rule promulgated. Users with access to Legislative Insight, the companion product, will be able to link back and forth between the two products, although this functionality will not be fully in place at the time of the initial launch.

Content and metadata included in each regulatory history associated with a Public Law:

The summary includes:

  • P.L.-Related Information and content: P.L. number, short title or invented title in brackets, official title, Statutes at Large citation, enacted bill number, popular names, names of cited acts, list of acts amended by the PL; and a searchable PDF of the law. Functionality will be added in 2016 so that the amended acts will link to regulatory histories of the amended acts.
  • CFR information and content: Each history lists the CFR Parts Affected. The CFR citations link to the current version of the CFR. The CFR Parts listed are associated with the FR article final rules included on the history page. 
  • U.S.Code: Each regulatory history is associated with the U.S. Code sections that provide the authority for the regulations potentially affected by the listed Federal Register Notices. This metadata is searchable, while not visible in the summary until 2016.
  • Subject terms: Subject terms are associated with the public law and available on regulatory histories.  Enhanced subject indexing will be available in 2016.
  • A link to the Public Law at issue on Legislative Insight
  • Federal Register articles

Regulatory histories associated with a Public Law compile Federal Register articles from rulemakings directly associated with that Public law. Each Federal Register article has been selected for inclusion in a regulatory history by a ProQuest legal researcher on the basis that it is directly associated with the Public Law.

  • F.R. article-related Information and content:
  • Issuing Department and/or Agency
  • Category (such as Notices, Proposed Rule, Rule)
  • Federal Register citation (volume and page)
  • Article title
  • Date
  • Federal Register Volume and Issue Number
  •  Regulation Identifier Number (RIN), if available: unique ID assigned by the Regulatory Information Service Center to identify each regulatory action listed in the Unified Agenda.
  • Agency Docket Number, if available: An agency may include a docket number, which identifies the document within the agency's internal filing system
  • CFR citation listed in FR articles for proposed rules and rules

Each Federal Register article includes a link to a fully searchable PDF. Each final rule includes a link to the version of the CFR contemporaneous with the FR article.

At default the Federal Register articles within a regulatory history are organized into department/agency groupings so that all of the proposed rules issued by a single department/agencies are displayed together. Within the department/agency grouping, the proposed and final rules for each rulemaking are displayed together, organized by RIN, whenever possible, or Docket Number. Changing the default from agency to chronological sort will produce a simple chronological display, either from oldest to newest, or the reverse.

Using the Filters

You can filter the list of Federal Register articles to those associated with an agency of interest, or those belonging to a specific category (for instance, Proposed Rules).

Searching Within a History

You can search within the text of associated Federal Register articles to locate those that mention specific terms