Film Index International by ProQuest is the definitive online resource focusing on entertainment films and personalities. Produced in collaboration with the British Film Institute (BFI) it is based on the Summary of Film and Television (SIFT) database collated by the BFI over the past 70 years. Film Index International includes records on films from over 170 countries and has extensive coverage of international film awards and prizes.
The BFI Film Index International can be cross-searched along with the AFI Catalog and FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Database in the encompassing Screen Studies Collection (SSC). Consult the SSC LibGuide for more information.
Film Index International provides in-depth indexing of over 130,000 films from the first silent movies to the latest blockbusters and biographical information for more than 970,000 personalities. Its rich content also includes references to film journals and periodical articles on film and film-makers.
See further below and in the Searchable Fields page more details on the Film and the Person Records.
The initial selection of records from SIFT for Film Index International is made by directors. The directors selected are those who have made a fiction film shown theatrically that is over 50 minutes in duration, released between 1928 and 1965 and those who have made a fiction film over 60 minutes in duration, post-1965. There are some exceptions; for example, directors with established careers who have made nothing but short films and directors who made feature-length documentaries. These are selected on an individual basis.
The Film records contain detailed film information including searchable plot summaries, the director, full cast and crew lists, year of release and production information. Credits, awards and a synopsis are also included. Here below the links to some Film records examples. (access is available to subscribers of the database).
The Person records include complete biographical information, a list of Awards received, plus a complete list of the films the subject featured in. Here below the links to some Person records examples. (access is available to subscribers of the database).