Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

University of Turku: Guide to ProQuest Primary Sources

Easy access to ProQuest Primary sources databases. Use Libguides to learn about database tools and content.

University of Turku

Introduction to ProQuest Primary Sources

Primary sources help students develop the writing, problem-solving and critical thinking skills; they drive researchers to identify questions, examine evidence and draw their own conclusion. Primary sources improve research, teaching and learning outcomes by allowing students to explore resources for trending topics like History, Arts and Culture, Social Sciences, Gender Studies, Migration studies, Human Rights, Food Science.

Database access

  • Click the database name links to search the databases.
  • Click the libguide links to learn about the database content and how to use the database platform tools.
  • In Volter you can search all University of Turku library resources in one go.

Contact ProQuest

Historical Newspapers and Journals databases

Periodicals Archive Online: Collection 3-4 | Libguide
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Austin-American Statesman (1871-1980)  | Libguide
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Calgary Herald (1883 - 2010)  | Libguide
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chinese Newspaper Collection (1832 - 1953)  | Libguide
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Communist Historical Newspaper Collection‎  (1917 - 2013)  | Libguide
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Globe and Mail‎  (1844 - 2014)  | Libguide
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Guardian and The Observer‎  (1791 - 2003)  | Libguide
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Jerusalem Post‎  (1932 - 2008)  | Libguide
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Korea Times‎  (1956 - 2016)  | Libguide
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Le Monde‎  (1944 - 2000)  | Libguide
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Sentinel‎  (1934 - 2005)  | Libguide
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Minneapolis Star Tribune‎  (1867 - 2001)  | Libguide
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Montreal Gazette (1785 - 2010)  | Libguide
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times (1851-2006)  | Libguide
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Philadelphia Tribune (1912 - 2001)  | Libguide
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: San Francisco Chronicle‎  (1865 - 1922)  | Libguide
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Saskatoon Star-Phoenix‎  (1902 - 2009)  | Libguide
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Scotsman‎  (1817 - 1950)  | Libguide
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: South China Morning Post  | Libguide
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: St Petersburg Times/Tampa Bay Times (1901 - 2009) | Libguide
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Times of India  | Libguide
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Toronto Star‎  (1894 - 2015)  | Libguide
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Vancouver Sun (1912 - 2010)  | Libguide
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Wall Street Journal (1889 - 2004)  | Libguide
​ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Washington Post (1877-1993)  | Libguide

Environment databases

Food Science databases