Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ProQuest LibGuides Banner ProQuest LogoProQuest LibGuides homeProQuest LibGuides home

Congressional Help: Miscellaneous Publications

Contents

Please note: the content viewed in ProQuest® Congressional varies according to the subscriptions/purchases of individual institutions.

About Committee Prints  

The committee prints Document Type category began when committees started to issue printed versions of their own internal working papers. Today, committee prints include a wide variety of publications approved and issued by committees or portions of committees, such as majority or minority staff. Prints issued by only a portion of the committee are normally identified as such on the cover.

A committee print can contain anything relevant to the legislative and oversight functions of Congress. The print content varies widely from committee to committee, and over the course of time the function and format have been inconsistent. Examples of committee print content include:

  • Research papers by committee staff, Congressional Research Service experts, or outside consultants
  • Committee rules and calendars
  • Compilations of laws
  • Transcripts of markup sessions or other proceedings
  • Legislative descriptions and analyses

Many committee prints may best be described as reports, but these reports should not be confused with reports that are numbered as official House or Senate reports.

In 1983 (98th Congress), the Senate adopted a numbering system for official committee prints that is still used today. The House does not have an official numbering system for committee prints, but some House and Joint committees use their own internal numbering systems. ProQuest Congressional includes numbered and unnumbered prints that originated in print format, as well as similar materials that were never printed but originated on committee Web sites.

Other Document Types in Miscellaneous Publications

In addition to official committee prints, ProQuest® Congressional includes in the Miscellaneous Publications category other committee content with similar research value, as well as congressional publications that are not issued by committees, but which also contains similar research content. These publications include such things as reports posted to an official committee Web site, but never published, and publications of congressional entities such as the Commission on Security and Cooperation in Europe, Congressional Budget Office, Government Accountability Office, and the former Office of Technology Assessment.

This category includes content that is not available through the GPO Federal Depository Library Program.

Accessing Miscellaneous Publications  

Use the Basic Search Form, Advanced Search Form, or Search By Number Form

These forms are found under the Congressional or the Legislative & Executive Publications links in the menu bar across the top of the interface.

 

 

The Advanced Search form allows you to search on specific segments of a document. The search segments below apply to Miscellaneous Publications.

Anywhere except full text Searches all search segments noted below, with the exception of full text.
Anywhere Searches all bibliographic information and the full text of the publication.
Congressional Source (Committee or Agency) The committee or agency that authored the publication. A complete list can be found by using the Find Terms links.
Subject Controlled vocabulary subject indexing. To see a complete listing of the vocabulary, click the Find Terms links.
Title The title as it exists on the actual publication, and titles of materials inserted into the document.
Witness Names of witnesses who testified in forums published as committee prints..
Witness Affiliation Affiliations of witnesses who testified in forums published as committee prints.

From the Search by Number pages, the following search options may be used:

  • Bill number
  • Public Law number
  • Statute at Large citation
  • Publication number
  • SuDoc number
  • Accession number

Collections that include Miscellaneous Publications  

The ProQuest Congressional Research Digital Collection includes indexing and searchable PDFs available for a collection of CRS Reports (1916-current) and Committee Prints (1830-current). This collection includes all official committee prints, as well as a sizeable number of publications not available through the GPO Federal Depository Library Program. This collection excludes separate section-by-section analyses printed under the Ramseyer rule. From 2000 forward, the number of prints acquired from Web sites has increased, as well as the number of minority staff prints as a percentage of the overall prints collection.

The ProQuest Congressional Basic subscription contains abstracts and indexing for all publications in the print collection from 1970 forward. The ProQuest Congressional Basic subscription includes links to the full text of selected prints from 1995-2004 and links to PDFs of GAO reports from 2004 forward. The GAO PDFs are not searchable, but can be identified and accessed through the associated results record.

The Historical Indexes module contains indexing for prints from 1830-1969.