Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ProQuest LibGuides Banner ProQuest LogoProQuest LibGuides homeProQuest LibGuides home

Congressional Help: Senate Treaty Documents

Contents

Please note: the content viewed in ProQuest® Congressional varies according to the subscriptions/purchases of individual institutions.

About Senate Treaty Documents

Senate treaty documents are issued by the Senate when the President asks them to ratify a treaty. They generally contain the text of the Presidential communication supporting ratification of the treaty and the text of the treaty agreement itself.

Once the President submits a treaty to the Senate for ratification, the treaty stays alive and carries the same publication number, regardless of the Congress, until it is ratified, defeated, or withdrawn.

Notes about Senate Treaty Documents

  • Until 1991, treaty document content was issued in executive documents lettered sequentially within each session of Congress (e.g., Exec. Doc. A, 91-1).
  • Until 1979 (96th Congress), Executive documents with a lettered identification system were not included in the Serial Set.
  • Beginning in 1981, the executive document type of publication for treaty materials was replaced by the Senate treaty document publication type and included in the Serial Set.
  • Senate treaty documents are numbered consecutively within each Congress (e.g., Treaty Doc. 99-1).

Accessing Senate Treaty Documents

Use the Basic Search Form, Advanced Search Form, or Search By Number Form

These forms are found under the Congressional or the Legislative & Executive Publications links in the menu bar across the top of the interface.

 

 

Collections containing Senate Treaty Documents

ProQuest produces several collections that contain information about Senate Treaty Documents.

The ProQuest Congressional Basic subscription contains abstracts and indexing for all Senate Treaty Documents from 1970 forward.

The Historical Indexes module available indexing for Senate Treaty Documents published from 1825-1969.

The Serial Set Digital Collection contains abstract, indexing, and full text (in PDFs) of Senate Treaty Documents